Top 5 Saturday: Books with Morally Gray Characters

Top 5 Saturday is a weekly meme started by Devouring Books. This week’s topic is Books with Morally Gray Characters. I chose 5 morally gray characters that I totally fell for!

 

Continue reading

Defy Me ~ Review


Title: Defy Me
Series: Shatter Me #5
Author: Kathryn Purdie
Release Date: Apr 2, 2019
Genres: YA Sci-Fi/Dystopian/Romance
Blurb: The gripping fifth installment in the New York Times, USA Today, and Publishers Weekly bestselling Shatter Me series. Will Juliette’s broken heart make her vulnerable to the strengthening darkness within her?

Juliette’s short tenure as the supreme commander of North America has been an utter disaster. When the children of the other world leaders show up on her doorstep, she wants nothing more than to turn to Warner for support and guidance. But he shatters her heart when he reveals that he’s been keeping secrets about her family and her identity from her—secrets that change everything.

Juliette is devastated, and the darkness that’s always dwelled within her threatens to consume her. An explosive encounter with unexpected visitors might be enough to push her over the edge.

Continue reading

WWW Wednesday ~ 4/1/20

Ali here ~

Welcome to WWW Wednesday! This meme is hosted by Taking on a World of Words.

The Three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

Happy Wednesday! How are y’all doing today? My family and I are all doing well. We’re doing our best to thrive in this mess, and honestly I’m just really feeling grateful for all the family time we’re getting! And it didn’t rain yesterday, nor has it rained today. Bonus!! I’ve been enjoying lots of board games with the kiddos, and other games that we made up ourselves. One we played last night revolved around music. We take turns playing 2 songs each. Points go to the first person that can name the title, artist, and album – one point each. We’ve played this a lot over the years on all our car rides. Living out in the country means even a trip to the closest Walmart is 20 minutes. But, I can say that my kids have a rather large music appreciation from it.
Continue reading

Mar. 2020 Challenges Update ~ Part 1

Y’all, I am soooo far behind on keeping up with reviews and such this year, and the craziness we’re all living in today just isn’t helping the matter…at all. But that’s okay. I’m going ahead and posting my progress, but it’s not actually up to date as I have more I need to add in, but I figured I’d go ahead and post what I have kept up to date in my records.

Let’s see how I’m doing so far ~


Continue reading

Restore Me ~ Review

Alison here ~

Title: Restore Me
Series: Shatter Me #4
Author: Tahereh Mafi
Release Date: Mar 6, 2018
Genres: YA/ Sci-Fi (Dystopian)/Romance
Blurb:Juliette Ferrars thought she’d won. She took over Sector 45, was named the new Supreme Commander, and now has Warner by her side. But she’s still the girl with the ability to kill with a single touch—and now she’s got the whole world in the palm of her hand. When tragedy hits, who will she become? Will she be able to control the power she wields and use it for good?

Continue reading

Ignite Me ~ Review

Alison here ~

Title: Ignite Me
Series: Shatter Me # 3
Author: Tahereh Mafi
Release Date: Feb 4, 2014
Genres: YA SciFi/Dystopian/Romance
Blurb: With Omega Point destroyed, Juliette doesn’t know if the rebels, her friends, or even Adam are alive. But that won’t keep her from trying to take down The Reestablishment once and for all. Now she must rely on Warner, the handsome commander of Sector 45. The one person she never thought she could trust. The same person who saved her life. He promises to help Juliette master her powers and save their dying world . . . but that’s not all he wants with her.

Continue reading

Unite Me ~ Review

Ali here ~

Title: Unite Me
Series: Shatter Me #1.5 & # 2.5
Author: Tahereh Mafi
Release Date: Feb 4, 2014
Genres: YA Sci/Fi/Dystopian/Romance
Blurb: Perfect for fans of Tahereh Mafi’s New York Times bestselling Shatter Me trilogy, this audiobook collects her two companion novellas, Fracture Me and Destroy Me, for the first time in audio. It also features an exclusive look into Juliette’s journal and a preview of Ignite Me, the third installment of the series.

Destroy Me tells the events between Shatter Me and Unravel Me from Warner’s point of view. Even though Juliette shot him in order to escape, Warner can’t stop thinking about her–and he’ll do anything to get her back. But when the Supreme Commander of The Reestablishment arrives, he has much different plans for Juliette. Plans Warner cannot allow.

Fracture Me is told from Adam’s perspective and bridges the gap between Unravel Me and Ignite Me. As the Omega Point rebels prepare to fight the Sector 45 soldiers, Adam’s more focused on the safety of Juliette, Kenji, and his brother. The Reestablishment will do anything to crush the resistance . . . including killing everyone Adam cares about.

The Shatter Me series is perfect for fans who crave action-packed young adult novels with tantalizing romance like Divergent and The Hunger Games. This captivating story, which combines the best of dystopian and paranormal, was praised as a thrilling, high-stakes saga of self-discovery and forbidden love by Ransom Riggs, bestselling author of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. Continue reading

Feb. 2020 Challenges Update ~ Part 1

Happy Saturday, y’all! I hope you are all having a lovely weekend. It’s pretty gloomy here in NW Louisiana, but it’s still been a good day. I’ve been having some great discussions with my besties over A Gentleman in Moscow today.

Now on to my challenges. Let’s see how I’m doing so far ~


Continue reading

Quips & Quotes 2/9/20

I LOVE keeping track of quotes that speak to me. Some turn me to mush. Some are profound and make me think. Some are just funny or entertaining. I often include a quote or two in my reviews, but I thought it would be fun to start a weekly post sharing my favorites from the previous week. So, without further ado, here’s my Quips & Quotes ~


Continue reading

Unravel Me ~ Review

Ali here ~

Title: Unravel Me
Series: Shatter Me #2
Author: Tahereh Mafi
Release Date: Feb 5, 2013
Genres: YA Sci-Fi/Dystopian/Romance
Blurb:

It should have taken Juliette a single touch to kill Warner. But his mysterious immunity to her deadly power has left her shaken, wondering why her ultimate defense mechanism failed against the person she most needs protection from.

She and Adam were able to escape Warner’s clutches and join up with a group of rebels, many of whom have powers of their own. Juliette will finally be able to actively fight against The Reestablishment and try to fix her broken world. And perhaps these new allies can help her shed light on the secret behind Adam’s—and Warner’s—immunity to her killer skin.

Juliette’s world is packed with high-stakes action and tantalizing romance, perfect for fans of the Red Queen series by Victoria Aveyard and the Darkest Minds trilogy by Alexandra Bracken.

Continue reading